Trying to figure out how to share files from Google Drive with students in Haiku Learning has been somewhat of an arcane art. The options provided are not always clear, and as they say "results may vary". In a recent blog post, Haiku Learning outlined the updated options for attaching Docs, Sheets, or Slides from Google Drive when working with assignments, discussions, and file blocks. You can now select additional levels of access for students including Read Only, Comment, PDF, and Collaborate. Read on to discover how to leverage these new options, and how to properly utilize files from your drive when working with your students.
Permissions for Assignments and Discussions
The following options apply to Google Drive documents that are added via an assignment or discussion, and for the most part for File Blocks as well.
Read Only will allow students to open the document in Google Drive as view only. Students can make a copy for editing or printing, but will not be able to change the original document. Permissions for the document will be updated to People at West Morris Regional High School District can view.
PDF will attach a static copy of the document to your discussion or assignment. Those students who are members of the class will have the option to download a copy, but do not have access to the original document.
Comment gives students the ability to view and comment on the document. They can copy, view, and leave comments, but cannot alter the original document. Share settings will be updated to People at West Morris Regional High School District with the link can view and comment.
Collaborate is the least restrictive option. The document will open with the Edit option in Google Drive. Anyone with the link who has an account through the district will be able to make changes to the original document. Choosing this option will update the share settings to: People at West Morris Regional High School District with the link can edit.
Permissions for File Blocks
Permissions for File Blocks will function the same as permissions for Assignments and Discussions with one notable exception, when choosing the "Read Only" option, the document will open as an HTML document in a new tab, not in Google Drive. The Share settings in Google Drive will not change.
Permissions for Google Drive Blocks
Again, the above options are available for assignments, discussions, and file blocks. They do not apply to Google Drive blocks. When adding a Google Drive block, the options will be Teachers Only or Students and Teachers.
Teachers Only provides students the ability to view the document embedded on the class page, however they cannot make a copy or edit the original.
Permissions for the document will change to People at West Morris Regional High School District with the link can view. The document will be shared with others teachers in the class and they will have edit access.
Students and Teachers gives students and teachers the right to edit the document. Students can click the pencil icon in the top right-hand corner of the content block, which will open the document in Google Drive with full edit permissions. Permissions for the document in Google Drive will change to People at West Morris Regional High School District with the link can edit.
Hopefully this blog post clears up any misunderstanding with how you are able to share Google Drive documents with your students. Remember that depending on how you add a Google Drive document to Haiku Learning will determine the permissions you can assign your students.